from concept to finished

I did it! I designed another quilt from scratch and finished it! I was hired by someone my husband works with to make a quilt for his wife for an anniversary present. AAAAAAWWWWWW so sweet. They are runners and have been running races together for awhile now. What a fun project to work on.

the concept drawing

the concept drawing

I thought that piecing together and quilting on a tech shirt was going to be Hard with a capital H! BUt it wasn’t, I used a fusible made by pellon (SF101) to stabilize each shirt and it made it a breeze.
The back is pieced with all the left over strips and it made a nice fun colorful back for the quilt.

the pieced back

the pieced back

Of course I got exactly zero photos of the quilt after I had finished quilting and binding it because I was on a time crunch and I was so excited with the way it turned out that I just couldn’t wait to give it to the groom! So here is what I have for photos:
IMG_20140827_200424778
IMG_20140902_181229985
IMG_20140902_181441196

5 thoughts on “from concept to finished

  1. YAY! I love it. The SF101 makes ALL the difference. I might need to steal your pattern since I have another t-shirt quilt headed my way.

Leave a Reply

