Early Valentine’s

Happy Valentines Day!  I know not quite yet, but welcome to the life of a firefighter family.  What?!?  Yes, I am the lucky woman who is married to a firefighter/paramedic.  He makes my heart pitter-patter.  But along with the heart pitter-patter comes schedules that don’t always follow the rest of the world.  He works holidays sometimes and we just roll with it and celebrate when we can, like this morning.

Me and my Love

Me and my Love

Traditionally I am not a huge fan of Valentine’s Day but seeing as how my Blue M will be starting school in the fall we thought that maybe we should introduce him to this holiday so it he completely blindsided in school.

a school-like project

a school-like project

It turns out it was fun to remind my kids how much I love them.  I was also inspired to complete a quilt project to go along with the Valentine Breakfast we had.  The blog that put the idea into my head for completing a Valentine’s sewing project is Sew Mama Sew.  They have been posting a series of Valentine’s crafts all this month.

three hearts for my three kiddos

three hearts for my three kiddos

IMGP8213IMGP8212

IMGP8215

I even got a little over the top and made heart-shaped pancakes and I died some milk red and made frozen milk hearts.  Oh how kids have softened my heart…

IMGP8228IMGP8195

We all had a great day showing our love for each other. And I got a phone call asking me to teach the binding technique that I used on these place-mats!  Keep an eye out and I will be doing a post about machine binding soon.  Better yet, just follow me so you don’t miss a thing.

Happy Valentine’s Day from us to you!

Green M says Happy Velentine's Day

Green M says Happy Valentine’s Day

4 thoughts on “Early Valentine’s

  1. Pingback: Wyoming retreat #2 | Phat Bobbin Girl

    • Thanks Tina. I have been trying to figure it all out. I have a whole bowl of the heart cubes left and you can have them all. They died everything pink when the kids dug them out of their cups and sucked on them…

  2. What a great Valentine’s Day with your family…I can’t wait for the demo on the binding. See you this weekend. The MoM!

Leave a Reply

