Pantone Quilt Challenge

I have spoken in the past about a few of my friends that have inspired me.  One such friend goes by the name Gail and she is one of those women that has it all together (in my eyes).

1185703_535735466481227_1906032384_n

She seems to find time to do it all.  She is a creative quilter that seems to turn out a quilt top each week on top of being a work at home mom and runner.  Her sheer productivity is inspiring to me as I try to stay caught up with her.  She is current in her designs and fabric choices.  Gail introduced me to a great local fabric and yarn shop here in Denver.  It is called Wooden Spools and we had such a good time shopping that day.  We also went to another local quilt shop Snappy Quilts and I knew we would be friends when she bought 8 yards of a fabric that she fell i love with simply because it called to her.

Now for the reason that I am writing about my new friend Gail.  She introduced me to a great blog On the Windy Side.  This blog is hosting a quilt challenge.  It is based upon the Pantone Color of the Year 2014 choice.  For more information on the Pantone color of the year Click Here.  The rules are pretty open and the deadline is fast approaching.  When I read this I was instantly inspired and knew what I wanted to make.

It is not my normal color palette but I seem to be redefining ‘my colors’ all the time so I have decided to just not have a go to color.  I love all color.  And since this year for me seems to be about challenging myself I decided to go for it.  Here is a bit of a sneak peek of the fabrics that I chose and be on the lookout for a tutorial after I submit the quilt for the challenge.

IMGP8175

Please feel free to share a challenge that you are working on.  It can be any sort of challenge, organized or personal.

4 thoughts on “Pantone Quilt Challenge

  1. Pingback: Updates | Phat Bobbin Girl

  2. Pingback: 2014 Pantone Quilt Challenge | Phat Bobbin Girl

  3. Yay, can’t wait to see what you come up with. It really helps to have an idea in mind with less than a month to get it all done (well, less than a month if you start late like me)

Leave a Reply

